top of page

Does Anyone Still Watch DVDs?

How in the world is it almost October? It doesn't seem possible. September was an actual blur for me. No matter how fast September seemed to go, I am certain that the longest week was last week. I can promise you that the longest day of this week was Wednesday, September 23rd. This was the day when Breonna Taylor's murderers were acquitted. 65 years after Emmett Till's murderers were acquitted. I don't feel like it is right to reflect back on my past month without bringing attention to this event. My housemate, Diamond said it best when she said, "When things like this happen it is beyond upsetting and disappointing.... This is why we have to keep talking about it even though it can get uncomfortable because if we do stop people become too comfortable with the miscarriage of justice that we as a people have to deal with."


Following this message that Diamond posted in our group, Diamond and I had the opportunity to lead a discussion around race and specifically got to share about activism. We brought attention to a local activist group in Miami called Dream Defenders. This time in conversation with my fellow young adult missionaries in Florida was deeply meaningful. Although the conversation was difficult and uncomfortable at times, it was a conversation that was healing. It gave space for people of different races, genders, and socio-economic backgrounds to come together and share our truths. We listened to each other. We grew together in that moment as we all set aside our pride or guilt or baggage to actually be present to share our struggles. It was in these moments that I realized how profound deep community can be to our current divided world. We need each other. We need to keep seeking out ways to learn and to be uncomfortable. Through these conversations we can do something about our current situation. Each of us has the power within us to do something to change. I'm challenging my readers to do something today to change our landscape of racism. Hold a door for someone, send a letter to a senator, read a book about race or watch a film. Do something. Please, our world is depending on it. Black and brown lives are depending on it.


So the next day, Thursday, September 24th, I got a package in the mail. My mom had sent me a DVD player for our living room TV. We don't have cable, however, we have been wanting to hang out downstairs more. We thought this would be a great solution. Guess what? It was! We have watched a movie almost every night together and even a few during the day while we work. It is the perfect addition to our house to help make it feel like a home. Although the DVD player seems a little outdated, it is a simple reminder of community.


Living with someone new is always hard. Living with someone you have never met in your life can be even harder. I have had roommates, housemates, and even random roommates in college. I know how it can go. It takes a special person that is willing to put in the effort to make it work really well. You have to be open to the new relationship or new friendship. You have to put in the work to communicate, share thoughts and feelings, and work together even if its uncomfortable. Diamond and I don't always agree, but we have found compromises that work for us. All this to say, I am so lucky to live with Diamond. She is a truly genuine person who teaches me knew things about life and myself each and everyday. She's thoughtful, funny, caring, and inspiring. She lives her truth.


September has taught me about community in so many ways. So I'm encouraging you all to seek out deep community. Be thankful for the people in your life that challenge you to be better and do better. Set up a DVD player and spend time with your people. Start zoom conversations. Create space to learn. Be patient with each other. We are all on our own path to seeing racism and speaking out about it for ourselves. In all that you do, please, do it in love.


P.S. If you would like to send us old DVDs, let me know. I'd love to take them off your hands. We're always looking for something new to watch!

bottom of page